Fiesta Friday: Let’s make today a little bit special (with banana pancakes!)

What is Fiesta Friday I hear you ask? Well, Angie over at the Novice Gardener had the great idea of celebrating that not-quite-weekend-but-not-really-weekday that is Friday by creating a blog party asking bloggers everywhere how they make their Friday a little bit special. I accepted this challenge gladly, because I realised that generally, if I’m not going out, I don’t tend to make Fridays any different to any other day of the week. Time to change, and treat myself a little on my favourite weekday!

Hence the inaugural Fiesta Friday post, and what better way to start it than with an early-morning run with the boyfriend and the dogs around the parks near our home as the sun came up?

Image

Very proud of Ste for managing this run after not having been for a few days, I decided to make him a special breakfast of banana pancakes. Normally on weekdays we have porridge, and cooked breakfasts are strictly a weekend thing, but since I was working from home today and didn’t have an hour’s commute I decided to make a lovely breakfast instead. And actually, it turned out to take less than ten minutes! I found possibly the nicest pancake recipe I have ever made on Jack Monroe’s blog, A Girl Called Jack. You may know Jack from the Sainsburys’ TV adverts on how to make the most of your roast, but I hope you also know her for her excellent blog, not only packed with thrifty recipes, but also with some intelligent and enjoyable writing, like the post she wrote about the stars whilst in Tanzania. I hope you don’t mind me borrowing your recipe Jack!

Image

Jack Monroe’s Banana Pancakes

Serves Two 
  • 100g self-raising flour (or plain plus 1tsp bicarbonate of soda)
  • 100ml milk
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Mash the bananas in a bowl, add the flour, milk, egg and cinnamon and mix until smooth. Heat a frying pan sprayed with oil/Frylight, and using a ladle add the batter to the pan in three blobs (I made six pancakes altogether, they are thick ones as opposed to crepe-style). Cook until the pancake starts to rise, and then use a spatula to flip them over and cook for the same amount of time on the other side. Serve with whatever you fancy. I had some lemon and sugar with mine (the one pictured is Ste’s helping, he had a lot more sugar than me!), but I think they would be delicious with some berry compote and plain yoghurt, or some honey or Nutella drizzled over for a really decadent breakfast.

After enjoying these yummy pancakes with a steaming cup of coffee I sat down to work at my desk. Even this simple act today was a bit of a thrill, because last night we did a little DIY in our office (Ste works from home so we have a dedicated office that we share) and put up some new shelves, and finally hung up my calendar and pinboard.

Image

Tarquin was happy just to have my chair to himself. He loves rubbing his face on the carvings on the edge of my desk, which is a family heirloom. It used to belong to my Great-Grandfather and I love that it is now where I write my PhD and work on my blog! 1800s meets 21st century!

I have just put a few things on the shelves for now, but I need to have a think about how to organise things. I needed extra space for all my books and papers related to my PhD, which were all a bit inaccessible, so I am really pleased with the result, and it has made a huge amount of extra space on my desk! So even sitting down to work today felt a bit special!

Image

And then the postman arrived! Even more excitement! I ordered some fabric from the Victoria and Albert Museum shop in London which currently has 50% off. They sell fabrics inspired by the museum’s collections from 16th-20th Century, and you can find some really beautiful and unusual prints. I fell in love with this stunning palm tree Liberty print fabric, and bought three fat quarters for a fiver, which is a total bargain. My plan is to make a cafetiére cosy and matching oven gloves. We desperately need a cafetiére cosy because we have one of those huge 12 cup ones (I don’t know about you, but it rarely makes more than 4 big cups for me!) and the only thing I have to keep it warm is a tea cosy which literally perches on the top like a silly hat, so a cover that actually fits would be good. And now that my housemate has a sewing machine she doesn’t mind sharing with me, the project has the green light. I am just waiting for my insulating fabric to arrive now, and I’ll be ready to start. I’ll do a step-by-step tutorial on how I do it eventually!

Image

 

So all things considered, today has already been quite special as Friday’s go! I shall have to start planning something nice for next Friday too, thanks Angie and Jack for brightening up the end of my week!

 

14 thoughts on “Fiesta Friday: Let’s make today a little bit special (with banana pancakes!)

  1. Sounds like you had a perfect Friday, Anna! And I’m a fan of Jack, too. What she can do to stretch a dollar, or should I say pound, is short of miraculous. Those pancakes look yummy, never added cinnamon in my banana pancakes before. Where have I been all this time? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

