NYC: Chelsea Market and the High Line

The first morning of our trip to New York in December dawned blissfully sunny with clear blue skies and not too much of a chill in the air, so I suggested to Ste a wander along the High Line, via some breakfast at Chelsea Market. Ste, not having been to New York before and having no idea what to do or where to go was thankfully very happy to go along with all my suggestions (which definitely worked in my favour when I took him stationery shopping!).

We headed over to Chelsea Market first for some breakfast.

Image

There are so many great places to eat in there, we were spoilt for choice, but I really fancied granola and Ste wanted a huge filled croissant, and the only place which filled both needs was Amy’s Bakery.

Image

I’ve only had coffee from here before, resisting the pastries, but they definitely did not disappoint! I stuck to my granola but I may have also got a cinnamon twist to stash in my handbag for an emergency!

Image

Sustenance consumed, we wandered on through the market and tried not to spend any money on all the wonderful food products (knowing full well we would not be cooking whilst there) or any home dΓ©cor or kitchen paraphernalia or art. There is always something new there, some pop up store you haven’t seen before, and the temptation is high!

I love this mural of the various cuts of beef. Definitely not for vegetarians, but I would love a smaller version on my kitchen wall one day – it appeals to the farmer’s daughter in me!

Image

Safely out of the other side, we headed up to the High Line. This is one of my favourite spots in New York. The city took an old disused elevated railway line and turned it into an urban park which is beautiful in every season. It is the perfect place to go for a stroll, high above the hubbub of the city, but with a view of it all. It is deservedly popular with locals and tourists alike, and sometimes it can feel a bit like a crowded train up there:

Image

but then you have some moments of peace when it’s just you and the city and the sky.

Image

Image

Whoever designed the park and planted it was very clever to choose foliage that would be equally impressive in its wintery hues of brown and beige as in summer in full bloom, with plenty of evergreens so it feels truly like a park all year round.

Image

Image

Image

The views are brilliant – Manhattan on the one side, the Hudson River and New Jersey on the other. Unexpected things lie around every bend, like this stunning mural, a representation of the ‘Times Square Kiss’ by Eduardo Kobra adorning the side of an otherwise unassuming building.

Image

The Park is only 1 and a half miles (about 2.5km) long at the moment, but happily there are plans to extend it. It seems to me like an oasis of calm in an otherwise chaotic city, and it has even been reported that the park has a stastitically lower crime rate than other parks in the city, so even the criminals seemingly love it! If you go to New York, you have to seek it out for a wander, I promise you will not be disappointed. It certainly made us happy!

Image

Image

2 thoughts on “NYC: Chelsea Market and the High Line

    1. Thanks! I actually heard of it back when they were first planning it, but thought to myself, that will never happen! Then on my first visit to NYC a friend included it on my ‘Must See’ list, so I had to go and check it out! It was so much better than I expected too, which is always great!

      Like

Leave a Reply

