Recipe: Jalapeño Cheese Bread

In the past couple of months, since discovering the Co-Op jalapeño and cheese loaf, Ste and I have become a little obsessed with it. Freshly baked bread is one of my favourite downfalls, and this is one of the yummiest.

Since moving to Yorkshire, we’ve not been able to find it, and Ste is having withdrawals, so I decided it was time to try baking my own.

Grandma gave me Mary Berry’s ‘Complete Cookbook’ for Christmas and I’ve already used it quite a bit. I absolutely love her, and she always reminds me lots of Grandma too, so it’s almost like I’m using Grandma’s recipes (which I often do as well, Grandma is an amazing cook). So anyway, my favourite cookbook at the mo.

Mary has a lovely sounding recipe for cheese and herb bread, but the herb she uses is parsley, which is not really a favourite of mine. I thought the recipe could be perfect to tweak into jalapeño bread.

Now, the Co-Op used red jalapeños in their loaf, but those chaps are pretty hard to find, so I used their less spicy brothers, the green ones. It still turned out pretty darn well, and the spicy hit is just about the perfect level.

So, if you fancy a warming, cosy, crusty loaf of bread that would make a great accompaniment to soup, or take your scrambled eggs to a new level, why not give this recipe a go? It is super easy.

I’m bringing this recipe to Fiesta Friday #51 with the Novice Gardener, which I cannot believe has become such a huge thing with so many great bloggers participating. I can still remember the very first one this time last year – my banana pancake recipe which I make pretty much every weekend now! I’ve been useless at dropping by over the past few months, and I’ve got a lot to catch up on. Can’t wait to discover some more great blogs!

Now, back to the baking.

A word on the rising phase, before we start. I’ve never managed to get my dough to rise all that much when breadmaking before. A little extra height and width maybe, but nothing to write home about, and consequently my bread has been a little stodgy I am ashamed to admit. I always put the bowl in a warm place, but it seems, not quite warm enough. For this loaf to rise, I put it right next to the logburner, and whoomphf! A huge, pillowy ball of dough ensued. So try putting your bread in the warmest possible place to prove, maybe even on top of the oven if it is already on to cook something else? Or next to the fire even, just be careful it doesn’t start to bake!

Easy Jalapeno Cheese Bread | Anna International

Another word of caution. Mary tells you to oil the cling film when you cover the loaf. I made some bread rolls the other day and did not listen to her wise words, and when it came to removing the cling and putting them in the oven, I took off most of their tops with the cling. Oops. So, even though it is messy (best way I could come up with was to pour a bit of oil on and spread it with my hands – if anyone else knows the proper way to do it, please do let me know), this step is pretty essential.

Right, on with the recipe!

Easy Jalapeno Cheese Bread | Anna International

Jalapeño Cheese Bread

  • Servings: 10
  • Time: 3hrs including proving time
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:
  • 500g strong white bread flour
  • 90g extra mature cheddar cheese, grated
  • 30 g parmesan cheese, grated
  • 50g diced jalapeños
  • 2 tsp English mustard powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 x 7g sachet fast-action dried yeast
  • 350ml lukewarm milk
  • sunflower oil for greasing
  • beaten egg for glazing
  • 2tbsp grated cheddar for topping
Method:
  1. In a large bowl, mix the flour, cheeses, mustard powder, salt, jalapeños and yeast. Make a well in the middle and add the milk to make a soft, sticky dough.
  2. Knead the dough on a light, floured surface until elastic and smooth.
  3. Oil a large bowl and put the dough into the bowl, covering with oiled cling film, and leave in a warm(er the better) place for one and a half hours to rise.
  4. Turn the dough onto the floured surface and knead again for another couple of minutes.
  5. Oil a baking tray, and shape the dough into your chosen shape, and cover with well-oiled cling film and leave to rise for another half an hour.
  6. Remove the cling film, glaze the loaf with beaten egg yolk, if you like at this point you can score the top with a criss-cross pattern or slashes, and then scatter the cheese over the top.
  7. Bake in a preheated fan oven at 210° (Gas mark 8) for ten minutes, then turn the temperature down to 180° for a further 20 minutes. If the top starts to brown too much, you can cover it with tin foil loosely to prevent burning.
  8. Remove from the oven and leave to cool on a wire rack.

And voilà! Your cheesy, spicy loaf is ready to eat! Enjoy!

Easy Jalapeno Cheese Bread | Anna International

I’m bringing this recipe to a few linky parties: Fiesta Friday, Catch as Catch Can and Feathered Nest Friday. Looking forward to seeing some great recipes and projects.

17 thoughts on “Recipe: Jalapeño Cheese Bread

  1. It’s nice to see you back, partying with us, Anna. And it is so nice of you to bring this savory bread – sounds awesome. I love Jalapeno, too. Enjoy the party. Happy FF! I hope to see you at FF #52 for the Fiesta Friday First Anniversary!! It’s going to be great. 😀

    Like

  2. Your bread has all of the ingredients I especially like, especially that you used 2 kinds of cheese. I turn the oven light on, cover my bread and let it rise in there. I cannot recall any time that my bread has not risen and I have been baking a long time. Occasionally, I have turned the oven on low and then turned it off with the light on. Thanks for bringing this to FF 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

